HomeAnnouncementsIt is now pretty easy to block someone on Spotify

It is now pretty easy to block someone on Spotify

-

Music streaming has clearly taken off over the past few years. The fact that fast, reliable, and affordable internet is more prevalent than ever, and many devices getting even smarter has all but created the ideal ground for this development.

The social aspect is also a pretty interesting role in the whole streaming services. As such, many of these platforms allow users to follow other users, make friends courtesy of other social media platforms like Facebook or phonebook contacts.

In an interesting twist, Spotify is now introducing the ability for its users to block other users on the platform. On blocking someone, they will no longer have access to your page, public playlists, your listening activity, or see your profile.

“At Spotify, we’re committed to delivering the best possible listening experience to our users,” a company spokesperson said in an email seen by The Verge

“Privacy is something that is, and always will be, enormously important to us and our block feature, which gives users more control, is the latest step towards that commitment.”

So how do you actually go about doing this? Well, to block someone on Spotify, open the latest version of the Spotify app from a desktop or your mobile device and then follow these steps:

  • Visit the user’s profile.
  • Click the … button.
  • Select “Block” (on desktop) or “Block User” (on mobile).

And just like that, you have blocked the user completely. But why is this important? Why would you want to use this block feature? Spotify says that this blocking feature is part of its goal to create a safe environment for users to listen to their music and podcasts.

As mentioned, when you block another user on Spotify, that person will no longer be able to access your page, public playlists, or see your listening activity. 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular